What our students are saying…

I loved everything about the alcohol inks class!! I highly recommend it to anyone wanting to explore the medium. When first walking in I was greeted by Kathy... Our fun and funny teacher! She had different samples to look at, gave great advice and was clear. Everyone had fun. The class was small which made for great conversation and plenty of time to ask questions. I will definitely be taking another class there and joining the 2nd timers club!
Christine Sykes
Christine Sykes
2018-09-21T03:28:31+0000
The alcohol ink class was very fun! Kathy is a warm and inviting instructor. I was a little intimidated to be in an art class and not be an artist, but again Kathy makes everyone feel welcome and with the alcohol ink there is no pressure to be an “artist”:) By the end we all felt successful and were ready to do more!!! Hats off to Kathy!
Lona Trulove
Lona Trulove
2018-07-13T22:32:35+0000
Friends of mine had taken a couple classes that they enjoyed, so when the watercolor class came up, it was time for me to check out Raye of Light studio. Intimate and enjoyable experience! There were only six of us so plenty of personalized attention. Kathy made learning easy and we all went home with personal ‘masterpieces.’ I’m looking forward to my next opportunity to be creative at Raye of Light Studio.
Laima Kuring
Laima Kuring
2018-07-13T20:34:31+0000
What a fun evening of making art! Very freeing medium and Kathy showed us many techniques!
Alice Wilkinson Conover
Alice Wilkinson Conover
2018-06-08T03:56:00+0000
I have zero artistic ability. I have taken 2 of Kathy's classes. I love her classes, and the finished product! My only suggestion would be to use the chalkboard to write down the products we use in the class. Being new to art products and techniques, that was the only thing missing. Kathy is kind and patient, and has the class all set up, and does all the clean up. I want more!! You will too!
Alexandra Thorn-Langtry
Alexandra Thorn-Langtry
2018-06-07T17:31:35+0000
I have been to several "painting" events but none like this...this is like nothing I have done before. The way the alchol and paint react to each other is simply amazing. I wouldn't say it was relaxing bc I was so concentrating on what I was doing but being able to bring my own drinks and food was nice. The instructor was great she helped with instructions but also allowed you to venture off on your own. The class is small so it is more intimate. And seeing what other ppl come up with was fun too. I drove up to California MD and my friend and I drove here to attend this event. Worth the drive. It is fun to see what others see when they look at your work. Can't wait to try another class. Thank you for a great event.
Naomi Manning
Naomi Manning
2018-05-10T10:41:31+0000
My daughter and I took this class together for a Mom-Daughter Night Out, and I am so glad we did! We made some great memories and some beautiful art for our home! Kathy is so nice, and she creates such a fun and open atmosphere! Her instruction is clear, and she is so patient--exactly the qualities you need in this environment. So glad we did this!
Donna Packer-Kinlaw
Donna Packer-Kinlaw
2018-05-04T00:50:00+0000
I’ve had the pleasure of taking two classes with Kathy at Raye of Light! Both experiences were a true joy and a lot of fun. Kathy is wonderful at instructing and giving guidance which is perfect for putting you at ease through the process! There are a variety of classes to choose from demonstrating different levels of skill but they’re truly enjoyable! From the “Pour it on - Acrylic” class, which requires no previous experience to her “Pet and People Pop Art” class, both classes have inspired me to further my fun and free-flowing relationship with art. It’s a great chance to give painting a try and a perfect idea to do with family and friends. Sign up for a class with Kathy - you won’t be disappointed!!!
Maloria LaPistola
Maloria LaPistola
2018-04-18T09:55:15+0000
Had such an amazing experience this morning! My new friend and I chose two of the same colors, yet made very different canvases from them! I especially liked the no brush promise! I am not an artist, but I do enjoy trying things out for size. This pour painting class was perfect for doing that!
Beverly Bergmann
Beverly Bergmann
2018-03-31T21:03:58+0000
Kathy's studio us inviting and stress free. I have been there as both a student and a guest artist! Would totally recommend her classes for both beginners or intermediate artists who want to learn something new or spend an enjoyable evening unleashing their creative juices! Raye of Light Studio is truly am Annapolis gem!
Markella Magoulas
Markella Magoulas
2018-03-29T15:36:02+0000
I really appreciated that I was taught the basic techniques to succeed in my project and that my interpretation was given free rein to create a work that really resembles me.
Karine Guay-Simard
Karine Guay-Simard
2018-03-24T00:06:48+0000
I have never worked with water colour before and was intimidated. Kathy is a great teacher and made it seem easy. I would defiantly do another class!
Karlene Wilson
Karlene Wilson
2018-03-23T11:41:33+0000
Had a great time! Loved the instruction on various techniques and the small group setting was great. Looking forward to another visit sometime!!!
Amanda Lyn Greenwood
Amanda Lyn Greenwood
2018-03-23T03:50:31+0000
First time with watercolor and I loved it! Kathy is very personable! It is a much more intimate experience than Paint nite. Highly recommended! Thanks again Kathy for having us Canadian Military wives, we now have a beautiful souvenir and memorable night!
Melissa Swiercz
Melissa Swiercz
2018-03-23T03:46:36+0000
I just took the alcohol ink class with Kathy Dennin-meagher and was impressed with the instruction and my final projects. Nothing better than going home with art you would be proud to share. Thanks for a great class.
Pamela Wood Ernst
Pamela Wood Ernst
2018-03-21T17:18:06+0000
I found Kathy and Raye of Light totally by accident but I am glad I did! I took the paint pouring class and LOVED it. I really appreciated having everything I needed provided for me, no investment in supplies I might never use again. I did enjoy the class so much however, that I will be investing in the supplies now. Looking forward to another class in the near future!
Brenda Reed Rajkovich
Brenda Reed Rajkovich
2018-03-16T15:51:45+0000
Dede Denny Crout and I had a fantastic time. What a wonderful way to spend a few hours on a Saturday.
Roger Crout
Roger Crout
2018-03-10T22:03:01+0000
I am an aspiring artist with no prior art instruction. I stumbled upon Raye of Light Studio and have taken several classes. I have throughly enjoyed them all and learned a lot! Kathy, the instructor, is skilled at teaching, critiquing, and guiding you in the development of your masterpiece. The classes are small (4-6) and provide a lot of individual attention. It's a nurtering environment for anyone who would like to tap into their "inner artist." I highly recommend the studio/Kathy!
Pamela Gucich Jackson
Pamela Gucich Jackson
2018-03-08T23:40:06+0000
This was a really cool class. I loved the techniques we learned. I can’t wait to do more!
Yvette Winburn
Yvette Winburn
2018-03-08T02:02:12+0000
What a fun evening! Kathy was so much fun to work with. She also made the creation of our works of art go seamlessly without stress. We all learned a lot and we hope to go back soon for our second try!
Mary Le Sueur
Mary Le Sueur
2018-02-27T22:47:42+0000
We had so much fun at our pop art party last night. None of us are professional artists by any means, but Kathy kept things fun and was there to help every step of the way. We will definitely be back!
Kim Wise
Kim Wise
2018-02-20T18:48:26+0000
Enjoyed the workshop Feb. 3 with Anita Ewing and the owner of the studio, Kathy.They limit the size of classes to 6 which is quite comfortable, Enough space for each work station. Supplies are provided in a clean environment with good lighting.Very non-competitive atmosphere, with gentle guidance in some problem solving.I would highly recommend this studio.
Stephanie Nadolski
Stephanie Nadolski
2018-02-03T23:42:13+0000
I had such a blast mixing paint and watching magic happen! Intimate and so much fun! Go check it out �
Lindsay Good
Lindsay Good
2018-02-03T03:56:58+0000
Alison Taylor
Alison Taylor
2018-01-22T02:42:15+0000
My daughter and I went to a Pop Art class tonight and had a great time. The instruction was top notch, while allowing you to use your creativity. Small, quaint studio with a BIG amount of talent. Will definitely be back!!! Thank you.
Jacqui Shreve
Jacqui Shreve
2017-12-21T03:42:41+0000
Amazing art, love the work that these people do!!!
Tom Burden
Tom Burden
2017-12-19T19:28:00+0000
This was so much fun, I'm so glad I went out of comfort zone and tried something I thought I would never be able to do. I recommend this to all the animal lovers!!!
Ricki Elanna Hurst
Ricki Elanna Hurst
2017-12-15T18:10:41+0000
Had an awesome time painting my pet here- it was my first time doing any kind of paint night and I loved it! I was nervous about messing up my pup but I had a lot of help and instruction that made it easy!
Caitlin Justice
Caitlin Justice
2017-12-15T15:30:57+0000
I have never done any painting before, but with Kathy's gentle coaching and encouragement I was able to create my own water color "masterpiece" which I proudly hung in my home. You're never too old to learn something new!
Nancy McAdams Hofmann
Nancy McAdams Hofmann
2017-12-04T16:13:37+0000
Such a fun night! Can’t wait to do it again! Thanks katherine and Kathy for making it so special!
Courtney Habercam Caughy
Courtney Habercam Caughy
2017-12-01T11:50:37+0000
Kathy was an Amazing, talented and enthusiastic teacher! She has amazing patience with someone like me who can barely draw a stick figure. Go see her and bring friends!
Natalie Miknich
Natalie Miknich
2017-11-10T18:51:57+0000
Ms. Kathy is a rockstar ~ How she was able to coax "instant gratification" kids into taking their time, listening to their "inner artists", and sketching patiently, I would not have believed if I wasn't there to witness their interactions! The boys' Farewell To D.C. Sketch was a hit and they rec'd the loveliest note that said in part, "...it was the best gift of all...in all our 42 years of military service...". So, thank you Ms. Kathy for your patience and your kindness before, during and after this session! I would note for parents, that the studio is perfect for keeping an eye on the kids, but not hovering - which i think helped immensely for the boys.
Eleni Pletcher
Eleni Pletcher
2017-10-11T18:33:24+0000
Absolutely loved my class on Monday! Am excited about the future - Definitely will return for another AMAZING evening! I don't think of myself as an "Artist" - someone that draws, paints etc. But I was an Artist Monday night! Great Atmosphere, Calming, Fun all the ingredients for Serenity! Now, going to rework my Calendar to pencil in a class - as if it were a massage or just plan an evening of WELLNESS! Totally Satisfied! Thank you Thank you Thank you! See you soon! Deb
DebandVince McClenny
DebandVince McClenny
2017-09-13T22:26:11+0000
Had the best time learning the techniques of Water Color for the first time. Kathy is a talented and lighthearted teacher, using her skills to help students realize their own talent in a beautiful way. Her studio is bright and cheery and full of inspiration! She keeps the classes small so you can enjoy an almost one-on-one personal class! Kathy is encouraging, uses top Grade supplies, and has a way about her that makes you want to get right into it and create! She is well prepared and the class moves along at a perfect pace! We created 4 water color note cards using a few different techniques. I am so happy with the results, I am looking forward to the next class with Kathy. Bring your friends for a memorable evening from an amazing artist!Thanks for a great class, Kathy!! ��
Barbara Fuechsel
Barbara Fuechsel
2017-09-04T22:24:48+0000
Wonderful experience of teaching and innovation combined!!! Can't wait to return! My 6 year old daughter and I did the Pop Art Pet and it was amazing! Bringing my daughter was an extra,special mommy-daughter day treat, since she was focused on learning mixing and application techniques in a fun and relaxing environment, and used her own imagination and skills in the process. My daughter said as soon as we got in the car, "When are we coming back, Mommy?" Thank you Kathy for your instruction and caring approach! See you soon!
Renee Starkey May
Renee Starkey May
2017-08-18T01:30:30+0000
Had a great time last night doing a beginner watercolor class! I love breaking up my stressful week with doing something creative. Wonderful instruction and fun atmosphere! Check out the other classes- some really fun options.
Gail Mahan
Gail Mahan
2017-07-21T14:05:12+0000
I am artistically challenged. I can barely draw stick figures. However, Kathy's great instruction showed me that someone like me can create art. I truly enjoyed myself and found painting a picture of my sweet horse Sherman incredibly enjoyable, relaxing and therapeutic. I'm so glad I treated myself to something out of the norm for me. I can't wait to do this again.
Rosa Shoop-Hunter
Rosa Shoop-Hunter
2017-07-19T02:39:37+0000
Nicole Sirpilla
Nicole Sirpilla
2017-07-06T17:01:07+0000
Jean had a wonderful experience at the watercolor class at Cherry Pickers Shop in Owings. Kathy is a wonderful teacher for such a short amount of time and numerous students to attend to. She loved learning the basics of watercolor and pushing herself past her comfort zone.
Tony DalBello
Tony DalBello
2017-06-29T19:19:52+0000
I've always enjoyed dabbling in paint but that's what it looked like, dabbling. I've taken 2 classes and have already learned so much about techniques and shading and colors. I highly recommend this class for any skill level. This is going to me be my ME time at least once a month! See my masterpiece in the comments.
Red Tullips
Red Tullips
2017-06-22T13:09:00+0000
It was my first time with paint and canvas the teacher was so helpful and I had a great relaxing time. I loved it would do again Good fun.
Sheila Sturdivant
Sheila Sturdivant
2017-06-12T00:18:38+0000
What a great instructor, never felt rush to finish and she was there every step of the way. I can't wait for next class.
Doris Haynes Frazier
Doris Haynes Frazier
2017-06-11T23:24:26+0000
Ruth Copps McGovern
Ruth Copps McGovern
2017-05-02T11:05:19+0000
Suzi Matthews Jett
Suzi Matthews Jett
2017-04-26T06:16:23+0000
I absolutely Love my Pop Art painting of "Blue" our Golden Retriever. Such a wonderful keepsake I will treasure always. Kathy is so talented, creative and knows how to bring out the Artist in all of us!!
Janet Koszycki
Janet Koszycki
2017-04-21T23:54:20+0000
So thrilled with my art project from last night. Was a little worried I didn't have the art skills needed, but Kathy was patient and SO knowledgeable. She was there to give gentle guidance to the more artistic and a little more help to those of us not so artistic. I can't wait to take another class with Kathy!
Cheri Oswalt
Cheri Oswalt
2017-04-21T23:34:20+0000
Do not be intimidated. I have the artistic ability of a mushroom and am so tickled with my results. Kathy is friendly and skilled and leads you through the necessary steps to create a memorable picture of a pet. I was at an event where there were 30 other people--but did not feel at all neglected. And now I have my puppy's face on a canvas bag.
Anne Marie Drew
Anne Marie Drew
2017-04-01T15:41:04+0000
We scheduled a private "Paint Your Pet" party with Kathy and we had a wonderful time! She is a consummate professional....she brought and set up everything we needed, and then worked with each of us in turn to help us create our perfect pet portrait. She's a great teacher and fun, too! I'm delighted with my portrait!
Donna Kudrav Levin
Donna Kudrav Levin
2017-02-23T22:58:09+0000
Kathy was great. We had a great time celebrating our friend's birthday while creating wonderful art. We treasure our paintings. I would highly recommend Raye of Light for get togethers, happy hours, parties.
Patricia Locke
Patricia Locke
2017-02-23T20:35:16+0000
An amazing experience at Kathy's art studio. A group of 8 of us did a private paint your pet party with her; she did an amazing job helping us turn our pets into works of art! Loved that our paint experiences were so personable and turned out amazing although we didnt have prior painting experience. She was knowledgeable, sweet, patient an so much fun. Highly recommended!
Edna Wong
Edna Wong
2017-01-09T02:05:15+0000
A wonderful and highly personalized experience. Kathy is an amazing artist and gifted teacher. I love my painting!!!
Victoria Burton Hathaway
Victoria Burton Hathaway
2016-12-21T04:23:21+0000
Maggie Dier
Maggie Dier
2016-11-05T21:02:08+0000
Pam Buzzerd
Pam Buzzerd
2016-10-25T04:45:15+0000
My daughter and I attended the Paint Your Pet Workshop and it was just fantastic. This is not like a "paint night" AT ALL. It is an art class! I learned so much, that I feel like I could actually try my hand at painting other things. Kathy is an excellent teacher and is able to instinctively pull out your strengths to help you reach your ultimate potential. I will be doing this much more often! Highly recommended!
Kelly Cravener Hax
Kelly Cravener Hax
2016-10-02T21:56:26+0000
Had a wonderful time at the Paint Your Pet Workshop! Kathy Dennin-meagher is an amazing teacher and you have so much fun! She walks you through all of the aspects of creating your furbaby in acrylics and, what you never think you could do turns out really nice! Can't wait to do it again!!
Mary Anne Montague
Mary Anne Montague
2016-09-26T16:31:57+0000
We had the BEST time ever! I've never painted on glass and I'm not sure why I waited so long. Perfect for parties too! I want to go back and try something else now. These ladies are so much fun, warm, friendly and make you feel like you can paint anything. We loved it.
Dede Denny Crout
Dede Denny Crout
2016-09-25T16:21:59+0000
We can't WAIT to experience a few art escapes with Kathy in her beautiful new studio! Her projects are fun, creative and unique. These will be fantastic night out ventures to be shared with friends :0)
Theresa Stehle Kurtz
Theresa Stehle Kurtz
2016-04-02T14:24:47+0000
An amazing place. The vision of an amazing woman!
Kathleen Orndorff
Kathleen Orndorff
2016-04-02T00:16:15+0000
kelly

This is not like a “paint night” AT ALL. It is an art class! I learned so much, that I feel like I could actually try my hand at painting other things.

– Kelly

edna

Loved that our paint experiences were so personable and turned out amazing although we didn’t have prior painting experience. She was knowledgeable, sweet, patient an so much fun. Highly recommended!

– Edna

dede

We had the BEST time ever! I’ve never painted on glass and I’m not sure why I waited so long. Perfect for parties too! I want to go back and try something else now. These ladies are so much fun, warm, friendly and make you feel like you can paint anything. We loved it.

– Dede

Had a wonderful time at the Paint Your Pet Workshop! Kathy Dennin-Meagher is an amazing teacher and you have so much fun! She walks you through all of the aspects of creating your furbaby in acrylics and, what you never think you could do turns out really nice! Can’t wait to do it again!!

– Mary Anne

Very cool and fun projects you’ve probably never seen before.

– Stephanie